Home News About Products Installation Java Registration and License Guides Links Contact
Guides

This page provides some useful guides that I have written regarding the synthesizers that I own

Yamaha SY99 LCD Display Upgrade Guide This guide provides information on upgrading the LCD display of a Yamaha SY99 to a different type which is not prone to backlight failure, and which also looks very nice in the SY!
Yamaha TG77 LCD Display Upgrade Guide This guide provides information on upgrading the LCD display of a Yamaha TG77 to a different type which is not prone to backlight failure, and which also looks very nice in the SY!
Yamaha SY99 Keyboard Repair Guide This guide provides information on repairing the Yamaha SY99 keyboard mechanism, but is probably applicable in general to any Yamaha keyboard that uses the same Fatar "Semi-Weighted" keyboard mechanism: EX5, SY77, DX7, Motif, etc., although the strip down details will of course be different.
Yamaha SY99 Battery Replacement Guide This guide provides information on replacing the soldered batteries in the Yamaha SY99 with battery holders, to make battery replacement easier in future. The guide is also generally applicable to another synth with soldered batteries, although the strip down details will of course be different.
Yamaha SY77/SY99 Floppy Drive Belt Replacement Guide This guide provides information on repairing the floppy drive of an SY77/SY99, which are prone to fail over time due to the drive belt becoming too loose.
Yamaha SY77 LCD Display Repair or Upgrade Guide

This guide provides information on repairing the LCD backlight of a Yamaha SY77 synth, which are prone to fail over time. The guide also provides information on upgrading the LCD to a different type which is not prone to backlight failure, and which also looks very nice in the SY!

Note: The LCD Display featured in this guide is no longer available

EX5 Layer/Split Tutorial This guide provides information on how to overcome the rather crazy limitation in the EX5/EX5R/EX7 Performance Mode, which only allows you to set two Parts so that they can be played from the keyboard. This guide shows you how, with the use of a MIDI lead, you can set the EX5 up to play more Parts from the keyboard.